Instagram is a popular social networking service which allows you to backup photos & videos, edit and share them to Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare and Tumblr. When you upload or share photos and videos, then they will appear on your profile & in Feed. By default, anyone can view your profile, photos and videos posted by you. If your visibility is set to private, then only approved followers can see your photos and videos which you posted on your profile. To make your posts private, turn ON the "Posts Are Private" setting. Once you have made your posts private, then people who are not your followers or friends will not be able to see your posts. If they want to see your posts, then they will have to send you a follow request. You will see your followers request in your 'News' section. You can approve or ignore their requests. You can also send a photo or video directly to people even if your are not following them and vice-versa.
Quick Tip Before You Set Photos and Videos to Private in Instagram
Photos & videos are precious memories and all of us never want to ever lose them to hard disk crashes or missing drives. PicBackMan is the easiest and simplest way to keep your photos/videos safely backed up in one or more online accounts. Simply download PicBackMan (it's free!), register your account, connect to your online store and tell PicBackMan where your photos/videos are - PicBackMan does the rest, automatically. It bulk uploads all photos and keeps looking for new ones and uploads those too. You don't have to ever touch it.