Frequently asked questions

Learn more about PicBackMan the most frequently asked questions here.

What can PicBackMan do for me?

PicBackMan can help you do the following:

  • It can upload photos to Flickr, Picasa, SmugMug, OneDrive, Dropbox, Box, Facebook, Google Drive and Amazon.
  • It can upload videos to Flickr, SmugMug, OneDrive, Dropbox, Box, Facebook, Google Drive, Amazon, and YouTube.
  • It can migrate your photos and/or videos from Flickr, Picasa, SmugMug, OneDrive, Dropbox, Facebook, Foursquare, Instagram
  • It can help you dedupe photos on your local machine.

Which operating systems is PicBackMan available for?

PicBackMan is available for Windows and Mac. For Windows, PicBackMan runs on Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10. For Mac, PicBackMan runs on Mountain Lion, Leopard, El Capitan, Sierra and more.

Is PicBackMan Free?

PicBcakMan is FREE to start and you get access to all the important features. You can then upgrade to Premium or Platinum version for unlimited uploads, faster speeds and other advanced features. You see a comparison of all plans here.

Is One Time Buy ($35 or $49) really free for life?

Yes, One Time Buy assures you that you won’t have to pay for PicBackMan ever with the below conditions apply.

  • You get FREE updates for 1 year.
  • After 1-year, updates will be charged. The total cost would be somewhere around $10 to $20 (not decided yet). These are the minimum charges that cover server maintenance and other charges. However, if you wish not to pay for the updates, you can still use PicBackMan’s existing version without any restrictions.

If I cancel my subscription and move back to the FREE plan, does it delete the photos & videos I uploaded?

No, PicBackMan leaves all your uploads intact once they are uploaded, irrespective of the plan upgrades or downgrades.

When I use PicBackMan migration from say Flickr to Picasa, do you copy pictures from Flickr to Picasa or move pictures from Flickr to Picasa?

During migration, PicBackMan “copies” pictures from one account to another. So photos in source account remain as they were.

It shows only 5000 pics queued, I have lot many. Why?

By default PicBackMan uploads photos and videos in batches of 5000 to speed up things. As soon as it completes uploading current batch it will pick up next batch or 5000 photos automatically. So you need not worry on this front, every photo or video will be uploaded via PicBackMan.

Do you support Folder Structure in Smugmug and other services?

Yes, we do support the 'Folder Structure' in SmugMug as well as other services like OneDrive, Dropbox, Box, Google Drive in our Platinum Plan.

I am a bit worried sharing my Flickr and other account information with PicBackMan!

PicBackMan uses oAuth to authenticate any account like Flickr, Picasa, etc. oAuth is the standard and prescribed way to authenticate any third party software without sharing your actual username and password. So, you need not worry about it. In addition to oAuth, our software is Code Signed which means it can't be tampered with. Lastly, we use HTTPS for server interactions.

What about my privacy? Do you keep my photos on your servers?

We are fully committed to privacy. PicBackMan doesn’t keep any photos on our servers at all - intact the photos are directly uploaded from your computer to your online account without touching the PicBackMan servers.

Do you provide any support for the software? Do you differentiate between users while providing support?

Yes, we are fanatic about support and customer satisfaction and work with all our users to answer questions, resolve issues and ensure a successful and satisfactory experience with PicBackMan. You can email us at team@picbackman.com or tweet to @picbackman or via Facebook. We offer the same level of support to all our users - free as well as paid.

Do you upload folders and sub-folders automatically?

Yes, PicBackMan automatically picks up all sub-folders from the connected folders and uploads photos / videos from all folders and sub-folders.

Can I restart my computer during upload? What will happen to my uploads in process?

Yes, you can shut down your computer and restart as necessary without affecting the uploads. PicBackMan detects it and pauses the uploads and resumes from where it left last time, so there is no loss of information or duplicate photo uploads.

Can I schedule my upload?

Yes, you can schedule your upload as needed in the Settings section in PicBackMan.

Will I have to connect & upload from a folder every time new photos are added or changed?

PicBackMan is automatic - it checks for new photos in all connected folders and sub-folders every 30 mins and automatically starts the uploads so you don’t have to do anything.

Can I uninstall PicBackMan?

Yes, you can. PicBackMan uninstall procedure is standard as per your operating system.

What is the PicBackMan subscription?

You can upgrade to the Premium or Platinum version of PicBackMan with a monthly subscription. You can cancel your subscription at any time and you won’t be billed from the next cycle onwards.

Can I use PicBackMan for only one month?

Yes, you can use PicBackMan Premium or Platinum version for one month and cancel at the end of it if it doesn’t fit your needs. Cancellation is simple.

Do you provide refunds?

We encourage users to check PicBackMan for your needs in FREE version. Kindly refer to our refund policy https://www.picbackman.com/refund-policy/ . We also encourage you to clarify all your doubts, queries, etc with us. In cases, where we find that issue is genuine we will be glad to work with you for a refund.

Is PicBackMan resource hungry? Can I work on my computer while upload is going on?

PicBackMan is designed to consume very little resources on your computer so it can run in the background and you can continue to work on whatever you need.

I want to know in detail features of PicBackMan?

You can see all the features here https://www.picbackman.com/full-feature-list/ and you can also confirm any specific questions with our support team by emailing us at team@picbackman.com.

Do Mac and Windows have same PicBackMan login? Can I use my single subscription for both Mac and Windows?

Yes, same login is applicable to both Mac and Windows. Yes, PicBackMan subscription is valid for both Mac and Windows.