What does the Video Preload Setting do in Instagram?

Instagram is an online mobile photo & video sharing and social networking service which allows you to backup photos & videos to share them with others. Instagram has a 'Video Preload' feature, which automatically start playing video when users scroll through their timeline on the Instagram app. It is useful to save the buffering time and the time of playng the video. This 'Video Preload' feature makes video start playing more quickly, but it uses more mobile data. It preloads the video & plays when the phone is connected over a mobile data network. If you want to control your mobile data usage, then you can choose either "Preload videos on Wi-Fi or cellular" or "Preload on Wi-Fi only". If you set 'Preload on Wi-Fi only', then the Instagram app will preload the videos only when the device is connected to a WiFi network. It will take more time to load videos when you are not connected to a Wi-Fi network. If you are looking for a step by step process to disable video preload in Instagram, read below.

Here are the steps to adjust the Video Preload Setting:


  1. Go to http://instagram.com/ & sign in to your account. If you don't have an account, then create one.
  2. Download "Instagram App" on your phone from the Play store & launch it.
  3. Open "Instagram app" on your phone.
  4. Go to your "Profile" page.
  5. Tap "Vertical 3 dots" on Android phone or "Setting gear" icon on iPhone located at the top right corner on the screen to open the Settings menu.
  6. Scroll down to the Preferences section & tap "Videos".
  7. Choose "Preload videos on Wi-Fi or cellular" or "Preload on Wi-Fi only".

Quick Tip to Backup your Digital Photos
If you have treasured photographs, or you take photos of everything you like, you won't want to lose them. So, what is the best way to backup photos on an ongoing basis? In the back of your mind, you know you need to backup all of your photos. But where do you start? Here's how to backup your digital life: PicBackMan is the easiest and simplest way to keep your videos safely backed up in one or more online accounts. Simply download PicBackMan (it's free!), register your account, connect to your online store and tell PicBackMan where your videos are - PicBackMan does the rest, automatically. It bulk uploads all videos and keeps looking for new ones and uploads those too. You don't have to ever touch it.

253+ Reviews & Counting

Kip Roof testimonial Kip Roofgoogle photos flickr
PicBackMan does exactly what it's supposed to. It's quick and efficient. It runs unobtrusively in the background and has done an excellent job of uploading more than 300GB of photos to 2 different services. After having lost a lot of personal memories to a hard drive crash, it's nice to know that my photos are safe in 2 different places.
Julia Alyea Farella testimonialJulia Alyea Farella smugmug
LOVE this program! Works better than ANY other program out there that I have found to upload thousands of pictures WITH SUB-FOLDERS to SmugMug! Thank you so much for what you do! :) #happycustomer
Pausing Motion testimonialPausingMotionsmugmug
I pointed PicBackMan at a directory structure, and next time I looked - all the photos had uploaded! Pretty cool. I use SmugMug and while I really like it, the process of creating directories in is pretty laborious when you need to make 80+ at a time. This was a breeze. Thank you!
Gavin Whitham testimonialGavin Whithamflickr
PicBackMan was really easy to setup and has been running for 3 days now backing up all my locally saved photos to Flickr. My photos are really valuable to me so it's great to be able to have them easily backed up to a secure location.
 Jim Griffin testimonialJim Griffinsmugmug
It's AWESOME!! I have tens of thousands of pictures...and they are now successfully uploaded to SmugMug, where they are safely backed up, and I can edit and organize them. If you are hesitating about using PicBackMan, hesitate no longer...try it...and you'll be glad you did!!