How to block users on Instagram App?

Backup & Transfer your Photos in Minutes

Automate backup & migration of your photos & videos with support for all top services.

(253 reviews)

Trusted by users in 130+ countries.

If you want to keep some people from being able to see or comment on the photos and videos you upload, blocking them is the solution. You can block and unblock users using either the Instagram app or the website. You'll have to open someone's profile page to unblock them, as there is no list of users you've blocked. Turning on the "Private Account" option will also ensure that only users you authorize can see your posts.

Blocking a user from the Instagram App:
  1. Open the Instagram app. You can block users with the Instagram app for your mobile device. Make sure you're signed in with the account you want to block users on.
  2. Open the profile page for the user you want to block. There are a couple ways you can quickly open a user's profile:
    - Navigate to your feed, recommended list, comments section, or direct message conversation and tap on the user's name.
    - Tap the magnifying glass at the bottom of the screen to open the Search tab, then type in the user that you want to search for.
  3. Tap the Menu button in the upper-right corner. The button varies depending on your device:
    - iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch - Tap the "..." button in the upper-right corner.
    - Android - Tap the "?" button in the upper-right corner.
  4. Select "Block User" (iOS) or "Block" (Android). Tap "Yes, I'm sure" to confirm that you want to block the account. The account will be blocked, and that person will no longer be able to see your photos and videos. Your account will no longer appear if they search for you.
    - You'll still be able to see that person's comments on pictures other people post, and you'll still be able to view their profile.
  5. Tap the "Unblock" button to unblock the user. When you tap the "Unblock" button, you'll unblock the user. You'll still need to tap "Follow" if you want to follow them again.
  6. Block someone that's blocked you. If someone has already blocked you and you need to block them back, you'll have to track down a comment or a like by them.
    - Check your mutual friends' pages and see if the person you want to unblock has commented on or liked any of the posts.
    - If you can find a comment or like, you can tap the user's name, and then block them using the process above.

253+ Reviews & Counting

Kip Roof testimonial Kip Roofgoogle photos flickr
PicBackMan does exactly what it's supposed to. It's quick and efficient. It runs unobtrusively in the background and has done an excellent job of uploading more than 300GB of photos to 2 different services. After having lost a lot of personal memories to a hard drive crash, it's nice to know that my photos are safe in 2 different places.
Julia Alyea Farella testimonialJulia Alyea Farella smugmug
LOVE this program! Works better than ANY other program out there that I have found to upload thousands of pictures WITH SUB-FOLDERS to SmugMug! Thank you so much for what you do! :) #happycustomer
Pausing Motion testimonialPausingMotionsmugmug
I pointed PicBackMan at a directory structure, and next time I looked - all the photos had uploaded! Pretty cool. I use SmugMug and while I really like it, the process of creating directories in is pretty laborious when you need to make 80+ at a time. This was a breeze. Thank you!
Gavin Whitham testimonialGavin Whithamflickr
PicBackMan was really easy to setup and has been running for 3 days now backing up all my locally saved photos to Flickr. My photos are really valuable to me so it's great to be able to have them easily backed up to a secure location.
 Jim Griffin testimonialJim Griffinsmugmug
It's AWESOME!! I have tens of thousands of pictures...and they are now successfully uploaded to SmugMug, where they are safely backed up, and I can edit and organize them. If you are hesitating about using PicBackMan, hesitate no longer...try it...and you'll be glad you did!!