Instagram has a feature "Instagram Direct" which allows you to share Instagram photos with followers, family and friends. This "Instagram Direct" feature is useful to send private photos and videos. When you send a photo or video to your friend, you can notice that he has just viewed it. Now if you delete a photo or video that you have sent, then that will also be deleted from your friends inbox. Once you have deleted a photo or video, he will no longer be able to view it. The photo or video will disappears from your friend's Instagram Direct feed.
To take back the photo or video you send via Instagram Direct, just delete the photo or video from your Instagram account. To do so, open the "Instagram" app on your mobile phone and tap on the "Direct" tab located at the top right corner on the screen. open the photo or video which you want to delete. Tap "3 vertical dots" located at the top right corner on the screen and select "Delete" option. This is how you can take back the photo or video that you send via Instagram Direct.