How to Unshare a Photo File or Folder in Google Drive?

Backup & Transfer your Photos in Minutes

Automate backup & migration of your photos & videos with support for all top services.

(253 reviews)

Trusted by users in 130+ countries.

Google Drive is a content sharing platform which allows you to share a photo file or folder with family and friends. There are many ways to share Google Drive photos with others. You can invite people to share photo file or folder or you can share photos using 'Email as attachment' feature. You can also share your files and folder using 'Email collaborators' feature. When you share file or folder with others, they will get an email with the link. Anyone you share a Google Drive link with can share that mail with others. You can stop sharing photo file or folder that you have shared in Google Drive at any time. If you are looking for a step by step process to unshare a photo file or folder in Google Drive, read below.

Here are the steps to Unshare a Photo File or Folder in Google Drive:

  1. Go to https://drive.google.com/ & sign in to your account. If you don't have an account, then create one.
  2. Once you have signed into your account, click "My Drive" button located at the left side of the window.
  3. You will see all your photo & video folders.
  4. Click the checkbox(es) next to the photo album that you wish to share.
  5. Click "More" button located at the top of the window.
  6. Select "Share" option from the drop-down menu.
  7. Click "Share" option.
  8. A "Share with others" window opens up.
  9. Click "Shared with other person" link.
  10. A "Sharing settings" window opens up.
  11. You will see the list of persons with whom you share the link.
  12. Click 'X' (cross sign) located in front of the person email ID.
  13. Click "Save changes" button.
  14. Click "Done" button.
  15. This is how you can unshare a photo file or folder in Google Drive.

Quick Tip to ensure your Photos never go missing
Photos are precious memories and all of us never want to ever lose them to hard disk crashes or missing drives. PicBackMan is the easiest and simplest way to keep your photos safely backed up in one or more online accounts. Simply download PicBackMan (it's free!), register your account, connect to your online store and tell PicBackMan where your photos are - PicBackMan does the rest, automatically. It bulk uploads all photos and keeps looking for new ones and uploads those too. You don't have to ever touch it.

253+ Reviews & Counting

Kip Roof testimonial Kip Roofgoogle photos flickr
PicBackMan does exactly what it's supposed to. It's quick and efficient. It runs unobtrusively in the background and has done an excellent job of uploading more than 300GB of photos to 2 different services. After having lost a lot of personal memories to a hard drive crash, it's nice to know that my photos are safe in 2 different places.
Julia Alyea Farella testimonialJulia Alyea Farella smugmug
LOVE this program! Works better than ANY other program out there that I have found to upload thousands of pictures WITH SUB-FOLDERS to SmugMug! Thank you so much for what you do! :) #happycustomer
Pausing Motion testimonialPausingMotionsmugmug
I pointed PicBackMan at a directory structure, and next time I looked - all the photos had uploaded! Pretty cool. I use SmugMug and while I really like it, the process of creating directories in is pretty laborious when you need to make 80+ at a time. This was a breeze. Thank you!
Gavin Whitham testimonialGavin Whithamflickr
PicBackMan was really easy to setup and has been running for 3 days now backing up all my locally saved photos to Flickr. My photos are really valuable to me so it's great to be able to have them easily backed up to a secure location.
 Jim Griffin testimonialJim Griffinsmugmug
It's AWESOME!! I have tens of thousands of pictures...and they are now successfully uploaded to SmugMug, where they are safely backed up, and I can edit and organize them. If you are hesitating about using PicBackMan, hesitate no longer...try it...and you'll be glad you did!!