For example if you have a folder with about 3 sub folders with photos and you want to backup those to Flickr. What will happen if you delete or rename some of the sub folders? Assuming that you choose ‘Auto Include’ sub-folders option (which is recommended). There are two possibilities
1. Renaming / deleting after you have uploaded them to Flickr : If you delete or rename some of the sub folders on your computer after you have uploaded them to Flickr, no changes will be made to the existing folders on Flickr.
Here’s how Renaming affects uploading photos
a) Currently your main folder name is ‘Alphabet’ (contain 10 photos) and it has three sub-folders namely ‘A’ (contain 2 photos), ‘B’ (contain 10 photos), and ‘C’ (contain 8 photos).
b) You have already uploaded them to Flickr via PicBackMan.
c) Your Flickr now has four folders i.e Alphabet, A, B and C.
d) Now, you rename any of the sub-folder on your computer. Let’s say you renamed folder ‘B’ to ‘Bee’.
e) No changes will be made on your Flickr folder. ‘B’ will remain ‘B’.
f) Now, if you upload the main Folder again, Only folder ‘Bee’ will be uploaded to your Flickr account because for PicBackMan its a new folder in your main folder named ‘Alphabet’.
g) After the renamed sub-folder is uploaded, you’ll now see 5 folders on your Flickr account i.e. Alphabet, A, B, C and Bee.
If you delete a sub-Folder
a) Suppose you have 2 photos in folder ‘B’ on your system, and you delete it, nothing will happen. PicBackMan won’t be able to upload photos from there as it doesn’t exist
b) PicBackMan won’t change or delete anything on Flickr.
2. Renaming / Deleting before you upload them to Flickr: If you delete or rename some of the sub folders on your computer before uploading them to Flickr, PicBackMan uploads only the existing folders.
a) Currently your main folder name is ‘Month’ (contain 10 photos) and it has three sub-folders namely ‘Jan’ (contain 2 photos), ‘Feb’ (contain 10 photos), and ‘March’ (contain 8 photos).
b) Before uploading them to Flickr, you deleted sub-folder ‘Jan’ and renamed ‘Feb’ to ‘Dec’
c) Now you upload them to Flickr.
d) The folders that you see on Flickr are Month, Dec, and March. ‘Jan’ will not be uploaded because it doesn’t exist. You see a renamed folder ‘Dec’.
Automate backup & migration of your photos & videos with support for all top services.
Trusted by users in 130+ countries.
“Your pictures are scattered. PicBackMan helps you bring order to your digital memories.”