Instagram users will be able to send expiring content to individual friends as well as groups through a direct message. The photo or video will disappear from the recipient's inbox after he or she has viewed it. Senders will be able to see whether or not the recipient has taken a screenshot of a video or replayed one.
As mentioned on the Instagram Blog "Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends, inboxes after they have seen them. And you'll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.
Whether your account is set to public or private, you can only send disappearing photos and videos to people who follow you.
To open your inbox, tap the new paper airplane icon at the top right corner of your feed or swipe left. You'll see disappearing photos and videos in a bar at the top. Tap the ones with blue rings to see what your friends sent you. In a group, you can see everyone's responses and who else has seen them, in a slideshow format. Then when you're done, just tap their faded profile photo to send a quick response."